Formats of the IBA_Vienna


The IBA_Vienna is considering itself as a process that drives a city-wide discourse on current and burning issues of the new development of social housing and thus wants to have a lasting effect on the historically grown and closely interwoven network of players. At the same time, the IBA_Vienna is a platform for central and, in particular, also new players - be it in the fields of planning and execution, developing and financing, research, consultancy and teaching, politics and administration, and last but not least the Viennese population.

On this account, IBA meets art and artists, space making actors, ForFuture Organisations, young people and universities, and other IBAs in Europe.

In order to respond adequately to the many demands for exchange and communication in connection with the IBA_Vienna, a number of formats were developed initially that serve to activate and develop potential IBA projects and to move the theme of “New Social Housing” into general awareness. Most of these formats are open to the public, even though they appeal in part to different audiences.

 

IBA-Talks

An important focus of the IBA_Vienna is on public exchange about current questions in the areas of housing, housing construction, urban planning and social interactions as well as new challenges, while discussion about the related approaches to solutions, ideas and innovations represents a further main focus.

The IBA Talks will therefore take place over the entire duration of the IBA_Vienna. Since Vienna decided to make the IBA process very transparent to the public from the very beginning, parts of the actual "preliminary phase" were also carried out in the context of IBA-Talks.

IBA Talks are regularly documented and are also available for download (PDF) and as video recordings.

IBA-Workshops

To hone, clarify or intensify interesting approaches, ideas for projects or cooperation, it makes sense at certain times to bring together a round of appropriate stakeholders in the form of a non-public workshop.

IBA meets Architects

In cooperation with the Architekturzentrum Wien (Az W), a very successful series of events has been launched, inviting international architects to address current issues of the IBA_Vienna. The experience and expertise they have gained elsewhere enables them to fire up the local discourse and inspire new steps.

Additional formats

Depending on the projects and the way the discussions develop further formats are contiuosly created (e.g. project calls but also symposia etc.).

Formate der IBA_Wien


Die IBA_Wien versteht sich als Prozess, der einen stadtweiten Diskurs über aktuelle und brennende Fragen der Neuentwicklung sozialen Wohnens vorantreibt und will damit nachhaltig in das historisch gewachsene und eng verflochtene Netzwerk an Akteur*innen einwirken. Gleichzeitig dient die IBA_Wien als Plattform für zentrale und, im Besonderen, auch für neue Akteur*innen – sei es auf dem Gebiet der Planung und Ausführung, der Bauträgerschaft und Finanzierung, der Forschung, Beratung und Lehre oder der Politik und Verwaltung, nicht zuletzt immer auch der Wiener Bevölkerung.

Deshalb trifft IBA Kunst und Künstler*innen, IBA Raumakteur*innen, IBA ForFuture-Organisationen, IBA Kinder, Jugendliche und Universitäten und die anderen aktuell laufenden und in Vorbereitung stehenden IBAs in Europa.

Es wurden daher im Rahmen der IBA mehrere Formate entwickelt werden, die dem Austausch und der Entwicklung bzw. Betreuung von IBA-Projekten dienen sowie das Thema "Neues soziales Wohnen" in das allgemeine Bewusstsein rücken. Der Großteil der Formate ist öffentlich zugänglich, wenn auch teilweise verschiedene Zielgruppen damit angesprochen werden.

 

IBA-Talks

Ein wesentlicher Schwerpunkt der IBA_Wien liegt im öffentlichen Austausch über aktuelle Fragestellungen des Wohn- und Städtebaus und der sozialen Interaktionen, über neue Herausforderungen und in der Diskussion von damit in Zusammenhang stehenden Lösungsansätzen, Ideen und Innovationen.

Die IBA-Talks finden daher über den gesamten Laufzeitraum der IBA_Wien statt. Da Wien sich entschlossen hat, den Prozess der IBA von Beginn an sehr transparent in der Öffentlichkeit abzuwickeln, wurde auch ein Teil der eigentlichen „Vorphase“ im Rahmen von IBA-Talks durchgeführt.

Die IBA-Talks werden regelmäßig dokumentiert und sind auch als Download (PDF) sowie in Form von Videoaufzeichnungen verfügbar.

IBA-Workshops

Zur Schärfung, Klärung oder Zuspitzung interessanter Ansätze, Projektideen oder Kooperationen ist es manchmal zweckmäßig, eine Runde maßgeblicher Akteur*innen in Form eines nicht öffentlichen Workshops zusammenzurufen.

IBA meets Architects

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architekturzentrum Wien (Az W) wurde eine sehr erfolgreiche Veranstaltungsreihe ins Leben gerufen, die jeweils zu aktuellen Themen der IBA_Wien internationale Architekt*innen einlädt, die auf Grund ihrer andernorts gewonnenen Erfahrungen und Expertisen in der Lage sind, den lokalen Diskurs zu befeuern und zu neuen Schritten zu inspirieren.

Weitere Formate

In Abhängigkeit von den Projekten und von der Entwicklung des Diskussionen werden laufend weitere Formate (z.B. Projekt-Calls aber auch Symposien etc.) zur Anwendung gebracht.