Charter on Sustainable Housing

 

On the initiative and under the leadership of the City of Vienna, the Housing Committee of the European Economic Commission of the United Nations (UNECE - Committee on Land Management and Housing), which includes about 80 countries in Europe, Central Asia and North America as well as numerous NGOs, has developed a charter for sustainable housing. The charter contains recommendations to all member states for the realisation of ecologically and socially sustainable housing.

 

Objectives of the Charter

Socially sustainable housing plays a key role in securing the quality of life. The positive effects it produces depend on the consideration of the following principles agreed in the Charter: Environmental protection, economic efficiency, social inclusion and participation and cultural awareness. In particular, the current framework conditions such as globalisation, demographic change, climate change and the financial and economic crisis pose major challenges for the development of socially sustainable housing.

UNECE Conference in Vienna

In September 2015 the Charter was unanimously adopted in Geneva, and in April 2018 a UNECE seminar was held in Vienna in cooperation with IBA_Vienna. The event was also open to the public on day 2. Further information on the events:

Day 1 - April 12, 2018:

  • Tour through aspern Die Seestadt Wiens
  • Conference at the UN
  • Reception at the integration housing project Globaler Hof (23., Anton Baumgartnerstra├če 129)

Day 2 - April 13, 2018:

 

Cooperation partners

UNECE United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

Palais des Nations
1211 Geneva

info.ece@unece.org

Open Website

 

 

Downloads

Seperator

Charter on Sustainable Housing

 

Auf Initiative und unter der Leitung der Stadt Wien wurde vom Wohnbauausschuss der Europäischen Wirtschaftskommission der Vereinten Nationen (UNECE - Committee on Land Management and Housing) dem ca. 80 Länder in Europa, Zentralasien und Nordamerika sowie sowie zahlreiche NGOs angehören, eine Charta für nachhaltigen Wohnbau erarbeitet. Die Charta enthält Empfehlungen an alle Mitgliedsstaaten zur Realisierung eines ökologisch und sozial nachhaltigen Wohnbaus.

 

Zielsetzungen der Charta

Ein sozial nachhaltiger Wohnbau spielt eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Sicherung der Lebensqualität. Die davon ausgehenden postiven Effekte sind von der Berücksichtigung der folgender in der Charta vereinbarten Prinzipien abhängig: Umweltschutz, Wirtschaftlichkeit, Soziale Inklusion und Partizipation und kulturelle Angemesenheit. Dabei stellen insbesondere die gegenwärtigen Rahmenbedingungen wie Globalisierung, Demografischer Wandel, Klimawandel und Finanz- und Wirtschaftskriese die Entwicklung eines sozial nachhaltigen Wohnbaus vor große Herausforderungen.

UNECE-Konferenz in Wien

Im September 2015 wurde die Charter in Genf einstimmig beschlossen, und im April 2018 hat in Kooperation mit der IBA_Wien ein UNECE-Seminar in Wien stattgefunden. Die Veranstaltung war am 2. Tag auch öffentlich zugänglich. Weitere Informationen zu den Veranstaltungen:

1. Tag - 12. April 2018:

2. Tag - 13. April 2018:

 

Kooperationspartner

UNECE United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

Palais des Nations
1211 Geneva

info.ece@unece.org

Zur Website

 

 

 

Downloads