Accompanying Projects

 

From the very beginning, in addition to the development and qualification of IBA-Candidate projects, IBA_Vienna also included projects and schemes that were suitable for either providing valuable impulses for the content orientation of IBA_Vienna, or that made it possible to specifically address specific population groups and invite them into the overall process. In addition, it was always necessary to take a closer look at individual topics in the form of studies or analyses in order to prepare for further steps, to support the candidate projects in terms of quality assurance or to address new actors with a fresh and critical view.

These activities have proven to be very important for the overall development of IBA_Vienna, which is why they should be made visible in the overall context of this international building exhibition.

Some accompanying projects have at least a temporary local reference and can therefore be located, but many are primarily of thematic or general importance for the future of social housing or took place in the form of events and discussions.

Projects

Block Renewal in the 15th District

Kids and teenagers have specific requirements in regards to their housing environment especially in the urban areas dating from the fin de siècle “Gründerzeit”. Two block refurbishment areas in the 15th district are testing grounds for new measures.

Embedded Exception

[Translate to English:] Logo Embedded Exception

"Embedded Exception" is an artistic research project within the IBA context of concepts „empowerment“ and „creating space“.

Essbare Seestadt

The "essbare Seestadt"-project is a 2-year research project that investigates contributions of food production in the city and implements projects in Aspern Seestadt for this purpose.

IBA meets School

Housing in Vienna is a very complex subject. The IBA_Vienna developed therefore together with the Vienna City School Council teaching resources in order to give to pupils an insight to the housing issue. Enough reason for an IBA school project.

Ich brauche Platz!

Berresgasse Neu Leopoldau Per-Albin-Hansson-Siedlung

A disused public bus becomes an experimental space for young people!

Living Lab

The project "Constructing the Commons" deals with the development and further development of commons based on the example of the IBA area Sonnwendviertel.

living::sounds – living::moves

living::sounds living::moves - Kinderprogramm am Educult Aktionstag

living::sounds – living::moves is a participative theater and music project in the Sonnwendviertel quarter focusing on the IBA-Vienna theme of “New Social Housing”.

My last car

On debating the upcoming climate crisis and a mobility turnaround, we ask ourselves (and others) what we would miss if we had no more cars. The performance is intended to open up a space on this debate.

Park macht Platz

Park macht Platz am Parkplatz des Wiener Naschmarkts

Park is a temporary spatial installation made of wood that will transform the parking lot at the edge of Naschmarkt into a public experiment from August to the end of September 2017.

Seperator

Begleitprojekte

 

Von Beginn an wurden im Rahmen der IBA_Wien neben der Entwicklung und Qualifizierung von IBA-Kandidatenprojekten auch Projekte und Vorhaben einbezogen, die geeignet waren, entweder wertvolle Impulse zur inhaltlichen Ausrichtung der IBA_Wien zu liefern, oder es ermöglicht haben, bestimmte Bevölkerungsgruppen gezielt anzusprechen und in den Gesamtprozess einzuladen. Darüber hinaus war es immer wieder auch erforderlich, sehr gezielt einzelne Themen im Form von Studien oder Analysen genauer zu betrachten, um sich auf weitere Schritte vorzubereiten, die Kandidatenprojekte im Sinne der Qualitätssicherung zu unterstützen oder auch um neue Akteur*innen mit frischem und kritischem Blick anzusprechen.

Diese Aktivitäten haben sich für die Gesamtentwicklung der IBA_Wien als überaus wichtig herausgestellt, weshalb sie im Gesamtkontext dieser Internationalen Bauausstellung sichtbar gemacht werden sollen.

Einige Begleitprojekte weisen einen zumindest temporären lokalen Bezug auf und sind daher verortbar, viele sind allerdings vor allem von thematischer oder allgemeiner Bedeutung für die Zukunft des sozialen Wohnens oder fanden in Form von Veranstaltungen und Diskussionen statt.

Projekte

BiB-Lab – Innovationslabor für Bildungsräume in Bewegung

In einem dreijährigen Kooperationsprozess wird in der Per-Albin-Hansson-Siedlung, an neuen Modellen von kreativen Denk-, Handlungs- und Gestaltungsräumen gearbeitet, die in den bestehenden (Bildungs-)Strukturen bislang fehlen.

Embedded Exception

Logo Embedded Exception

"Embedded Exception" ist ein künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt im IBA-Kontext der programmatischen Begriffe „Empowerment" und „Raum schaffen“.

Essbare Seestadt

Die „essbare Seestadt“ ist ein 2-jähriges Forschungsprojekt, das Beiträge der Nahrungsmittelproduktion in der Stadt untersucht und dazu Projekte in der Aspern Seestadt umsetzt.

Frauen Bauen Stadt

Wie sieht die Zukunft der Stadt aus einer weiblichen Perspektive aus? Dieser und vielen weiteren Fragen geht Frauen Bauen Stadt, kuratiert von Katja Schechtner und Wojciech Czaja, nach.

IBA trifft Schule

Wohnen in Wien ist ein vielschichtiges Thema. Gemeinsam mit dem Stadtschulrat für Wien entwickelt die IBA daher Unterrichtsmaterialien die Schülerinnen und Schülern Einblick in die Wohnmaterie geben sollen. Grund genug für ein IBA-Schulprojekt!

ICH BRAUCHE PLATZ!

Nachbarschaft Berresgasse Neu Leopoldau Per-Albin-Hansson-Siedlung

Ich brauche Platz! ist ein Kunst- und Raumforschungsprojekt, das in mehreren Phasen und an verschiedenen Standorten durchgeführt wurde. Als „Forschungsbasis“ diente ein zum Multifunktionsraum umgebauter Bus der Wiener Linien.

Living Lab

Das Projekt „Constructing the Commons“ setzt sich mit der Entwicklung und der Weiterentwicklung von Gemeingütern am Beispiel des IBA-Gebietes Sonnwendviertel auseinander.

living::sounds – living::moves

living::sounds living::moves - Kinderprogramm am Educult Aktionstag

living::sounds – living::moves, Einpartizipatives Theater- und Musikprojekt im Sonnwendviertel zum IBA_Wien Thema “Neues soziales Wohnen”.

Mein letztes Auto

Durch die Klimakrise und die Debatte rund um die Mobilitätswende, fragen wir uns (und andere), was wir denn vermissen würden, wenn wir keine Autos mehr hätten. Die Performance soll den Raum öffnen um die Debatte.

Seperator