HOME 21

Axel-Corti-Gasse 12/ Siemensstraße 142
1210 Wien

Cooperation Partner

6 1
KALLINGER PROJEKTE

Breite Gasse 4/5
1070 Wien

Open Website

TC ZT GmbH

Hollandstrasse 9/8
1020 Wien

Open Website

Dipl.-Ing. Alexander Katzkow & Partner GmbH

Mariahilfer Straße 101/3/36
1060 Wien

Open Website

Wohnservice Wien Ges.m.b.H

Guglgasse 7-9/2. OG
1030 Wien

Open Website

Fonds Soziales Wien

Guglgasse 7-9
1030 Wien

Open Website

Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien

Albrechtskreithgasse 19-21
1160 Wien

Open Website

Arriving and Coming Home

>> Temporary apartments are being built on this former industrial estate using housing subsidies. Available without capital and with a low rent ceiling, they are particularly interesting, for example, for apprentices who want to live and work independently or single parents. With this intelligent temporary use, affordable housing is created on otherwise fallow land. <<

Ilse Fitzbauer, deputy borough mayor in Vienna-Floridsdorf


Temporary living.
HOME 21 is the first project for temporary housing to be completed as part of the Immediate Construction Program launched by the City of Vienna in 2016. In this program, residential buildings can also be built temporarily in areas that are not reserved for housing purposes.

One objective of the instant construction program was the quick installation of the housing units in system and lightweight construction. In contrast to other projects, HOME 21 does not have to be demolished or relocated when the temporary building permit expires, but is suitable for conversion for commercial purposes.

An essential element of the project is the principle of a variable mix of housing, commercial and social uses. The 3.5m high ground floor is reserved for spaces for social purposes and infrastructure provided by the developer and designed for step-by-step extension. The upper floors are dedicated to living, but have a room height of approx. 2.8 m, which is also suitable for other uses. Ceilings without beams and the absence of load-bearing partitions and partition walls enable largely free floor plan variations and room combinations.

Access to dignified living made easy!
HOME 21 offers affordable housing both for young people in Vienna who do not yet want to determine the center of their lives and for target groups who up to now have found it difficult to be cared for in subsidized new housing: formerly homeless people, homeless women with a migration background and their children, and older people with disabilities. The rent is € 8.10/m² including operating costs (price basis 2017), even a basic stock of furniture is already included. There are no financing contributions.

Diverse housing.
The apartments are allocated in cooperation with various social institutions: SMART apartments (Wohnservice Wien), mother and child apartments (Caritas Vienna) and apartments for formerly homeless people (Fonds Soziales Wien/ Obdach). The co-living studio apartments for people with disabilities are managed by Caritas Vienna.

Open space and art as a connecting center.
A large playground for children and young adults is the social heart of the complex. Areas of the ground floor zone have been designed by the two young artists Olga Georgieva and Assunta Abdel Azim Mohamed creating a space for art interventions on the subject of Arriving and Coming Home.


Facts and Figures

  • 161 SMART apartments (Wohnservice Wien)
  • 61 apartments for Obdach Wien (FSW)
  • 19 mother and child apartments (Caritas Vienna)
  • 15 co-living studio apartments for people with disabilities (Caritas Vienna)

 
Completion

2018

 

HOME 21 On the Long List of the DEZEEN-AWARDS 2019!

As one of the most influential and globally active magazines for design and architecture, DEZEEN annually presents an award for internationally outstanding projects. The 26 selected projects in the category "Housing Project" show with buildings from all continents a broad spectrum of architecture from all over the world, into which-as the only project from Austria - HOME 21 was included.

>> https://www.dezeen.com/2019/07/08/dezeen-awards-2019-architecture-longlist/

 

HOME 21 wins the Architecture MasterPrize 2019 and the Architizer A+Award 2020!

After winning the Architecture MasterPrize 2019 (category “Social Housing”) HOME 21 has now also won the Architizer A+Award 2020 (category “commercial - mixed use”).

>> https://architectureprize.com/winners/winner.php?id=3807

>> https://architizer.com/projects/sie-home-21-multi-housing/

 

Videos

Home 21

Related Events

Home 21: Präsentation FH Studie*

Wie wohnen wir morgen? Vortrag How will we live tomorrow? 13.10.2020 | 17:00 - | 19:00 WEST (ehem. Sophienspital) | Stollgasse 17/ Ecke Neubaugürtel

Das Kompetenzzentrum für Soziale Arbeit der FH Campus Wien gibt Einblicke in die Ergebnisse einer Studie zu Home 21 und skizziert Lernerfahrungen aus dem Projekt.

Cooperation Partner

KALLINGER PROJEKTE

Breite Gasse 4/5
1070 Wien

Open Website

TC ZT GmbH

Hollandstrasse 9/8
1020 Wien

Open Website

Dipl.-Ing. Alexander Katzkow & Partner GmbH

Mariahilfer Straße 101/3/36
1060 Wien

Open Website

Wohnservice Wien Ges.m.b.H

Guglgasse 7-9/2. OG
1030 Wien

Open Website

Fonds Soziales Wien

Guglgasse 7-9
1030 Wien

Open Website

Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien

Albrechtskreithgasse 19-21
1160 Wien

Open Website

HOME 21

Home 21

Axel-Corti-Gasse 12/ Siemensstraße 142
1210 Wien

Kooperationspartner

KALLINGER PROJEKTE

Sissy-Löwinger-Weg 7/Top 4
1100 Wien

Zur Website

Wohnservice Wien Ges.m.b.H

Guglgasse 7-9/2. OG
1030 Wien

Zur Website

TC ZT GmbH

Hollandstrasse 9/8
1020 Wien

Zur Website

Dipl.-Ing. Alexander Katzkow & Partner GmbH

Mariahilfer Straße 101/3/36
1060 Wien

Zur Website

Fonds Soziales Wien

Guglgasse 7-9
1030 Wien

Zur Website

Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien

Albrechtskreithgasse 19-21
1160 Wien

Zur Website

Ankommen und Heimkommen

>> Auf diesem ehemaligen Gewerbegebiet werden mit Wohnbaufördermitteln temporäre Wohnungen errichtet. Ohne Eigenmittel und bei einer niedrigen Mietobergrenze sind sie etwa für Lehrlinge, die selbstständig wohnen und leben möchten oder Alleinerziehende besonders interessant. Mit dieser intelligenten Zwischennutzung wird leistbarer Wohnraum auf sonst brachliegenden Grundstücken realisiert.<<

Ilse Fitzbauer, Bezirksvorsteher-Stellvertreterin in Floridsdorf


Wohnen auf Zeit.
HOME 21 ist das erste Projekt für temporäres Wohnen, das im Rahmen des von der Stadt Wien 2016 gestarteten Sofortbauprogramms fertig gestellt wurde. Bei diesem Programm können Wohnhäuser temporär auch in Gebieten errichtet werden, die nicht für den Wohnzweck gewidmet sind.

Eine Zielsetzung des Sofortbauprogramms war die schnelle Errichtung der Wohneinheiten in System- und Leichtbauweise. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Projekten muss HOME 21 nach Ablauf der befristeten Baugenehmigung nicht wieder abgetragen oder transferiert werden, sondern ist für eine Umnutzung für gewerbliche Zwecke geeignet.

Wesentliches Element des Projekts ist daher das Prinzip der veränderbaren Nutzungsmischung von Wohnen, Gewerbe und sozialen Nutzungen. Das 3,5m hohe Erdgeschoss ist Räumen für soziale Zwecke und Infrastruktur vorbehalten, die vom Bauträger zur Verfügung gestellt werden und für einen schrittweisen Ausbau konzipiert wurden. Die Obergeschosse sind dem Wohnen gewidmet, weisen aber mit ca. 2,8m eine Raumhöhe auf, die auch für andere Nutzungen geeignet ist. Durch unterzugsfreie Decken und den Wegfall tragender Zwischen- und Trennwände können weitestgehend freie Grundrissvarianten und Raumkombinationen verwirklicht werden.

Zugang zum Wohnen leicht gemacht!
HOME 21 bietet ein leistbares Angebot sowohl für junge Wiener*innen, die ihren Lebensmittelpunkt noch nicht festlegen wollen, als auch für Zielgruppen, die bisher nur schwer im geförderten Wohnungsneubau versorgt werden konnten: ehemals obdachlose Personen, wohnungslose Frauen mit Migrationshintergrund und ihre Kinder, sowie ältere Menschen mit Behinderungen. Die Miete beträgt € 8,10/m² inklusive Betriebskosten (Preisbasis 2017), auch ein Grundstock an Möblierung ist bereits inkludiert. Es fallen keine Finanzierungsbeiträge an.

Vielfältiges Wohnen.
In Kooperation mit verschiedenen sozialen Einrichtungen werden die Wohnungen vergeben: SMART-Wohnungen (Wohnservice Wien), Mutter-Kind-Wohnungen (Caritas Wien) und Wohnungen für ehemals wohnungslose Menschen (Fonds Soziales Wien/ Obdach). Die Wohnplätze im Garconnieren-Verbund für Menschen mit Behinderungen werden von der Caritas Wien betreut.

Freiraum und Kunst als verbindende Mitte.
Ein großer Kinder- und Jugendspielplatz bildet die soziale Mitte der Anlage. Bereiche der Erdgeschosszone wurden den beiden jungen Künstlerinnen Olga Georgieva und Assunta Abdel Azim Mohamed als Raum für Kunstinterventionen zum Thema "Ankommen und Heimkommen" zur Verfügung gestellt.


Zahlen und Fakten

  • 161 SMART-Wohnungen (Wohnservice Wien)
  • 61 Wohnungen für "Obdach Wien" (FSW)
  • 19 Mutter-Kind-Wohnungen (Caritas Wien)
  • 15 Wohnungen im "Garconnierenverbund" für Menschen mit Behinderungen (Caritas Wien)

 
Fertigstellung

2018

 

Wohnungsvergabe


HOME 21 ist auf der Longlist des DEZEEN-AWARDS 2019!

DEZEEN schreibt als eines der einflussreichsten und weltweit agierenden Magazine für Design und Architektur jährlich einen Preis für international herausragende Projekte aus. Die 26 ausgewählten Projekte in der Kategorie "Housing Project" zeigen mit Bauten aus allen Erdteilen ein breites Spektrum der weltweiten Architektur, in das – als einziges Projekt aus Österreich – HOME 21 aufgenommen wurde.

>> https://www.dezeen.com/2019/07/08/dezeen-awards-2019-architecture-longlist/

 

 

Kooperationspartner

KALLINGER PROJEKTE

Sissy-Löwinger-Weg 7/Top 4
1100 Wien

Zur Website

Wohnservice Wien Ges.m.b.H

Guglgasse 7-9/2. OG
1030 Wien

Zur Website

TC ZT GmbH

Hollandstrasse 9/8
1020 Wien

Zur Website

Dipl.-Ing. Alexander Katzkow & Partner GmbH

Mariahilfer Straße 101/3/36
1060 Wien

Zur Website

Fonds Soziales Wien

Guglgasse 7-9
1030 Wien

Zur Website

Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien

Albrechtskreithgasse 19-21
1160 Wien

Zur Website