THE PLAYERS OF THE IBA_VIENNA

"The IBA_Vienna are all those who actively participate in it."

The IBA_Vienna is considering itself as a process and platform with broad-based involvement of the main players - in addition to planning and execution, developing and financing, research and teaching as well as politics and administration, this is above all the Viennese population.


Dr. Michael Ludwig | Mayor of the city of Vienna & Initiator of the IBA_Vienna

Dr. Michael Ludwig together with Dr. Wolfgang Förster are the initiators of the IBA_Vienna.

>> Vienna is in a relatively comfortable position, being able to look back on a long-standing tradition of innovative housing construction. The 100th anniversary of municipal housing in Red Vienna that was celebrated in 2019, however, also highlights that the success of this tradition relies on preserving principles rather than on clinging to details. The processes and methods of implementation have to be adjusted to current developments and requirements again and again. Only in this way has it been  possible to maintain and continually raise the high standard of housing in Vienna to date - be it in the times of Red Vienna, in the postwar period with its large-scale housing estates, in the period of Sanfte Stadterneuerung (gentle urban renewal) or, right now, in the early 21st century with its current challenges ?such as social equity, technological innovation and climate change. The fact that Vienna has always responded to emerging challenges with sound judgement and a human touch without losing sight of its principles significantly contributes to the position that our city has long held with regard to the general quality of life also by international comparison. <<


Kathrin Gaál | Executive City Councillor & President of the IBA_Vienna

Kathrin Gaál is Executive City Councillor for Women's Issues and Housing & President of the IBA_Vienna

>> With the IBA_Vienna, the city places special emphasis on the development of new ideas and approaches that lead to solutions for current and future challenges faced by housing.

Being the Executive City Councilor for Women’s Issues, it is also particularly important to continue the Viennese tradition in which social housing has always gone hand in hand with achievements in women’s policy. Looking back on already 100 years of municipal housing history in Red Vienna, alleviating the burden of household and family work for women has been a key objective from the outset an objective that still arises anew again and again today and therefore demands new solutions and approaches. Safety and accessibility are important issues when it comes to planning an urban residential environment that is in line with the needs of women. Something that is also very dear to me is the creation of innovative types of housing for single parents. <<


The Team of the IBA_Vienna

The IBA team, currently consisting of 6 members, is coordinated by DI Kurt Hofstetter.

> Get to know the IBA_Vienna team.


The Advisory Committee of the IBA_Wien

Under the chairmanship of Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Kunibert Wachten and his deputy Margrit Hugentobler, PhD, the international advisory board supports the International Building Exhibition Vienna in the process of intensifying the content in the preliminary phase and during the phase of project qualification until 2020.

> More Information about the Advisory Committee of the IBA_Vienna


Consultancy to the IBA-Team

Professor Rudolf Scheuvens acts as ongoing expert consultant to the IBA-Team, organized workshops with experts and those interested by the project and participated in the meetings of the Advisory Board. In addition he drafts wordings and inputs of the IBA_Vienna for new methods and procedures and continuously brings up to date information and best practices from other innovative developments to the key subjects of the IBA_Vienna.

DIE AKTEUR*INNEN DER IBA_WIEN

„IBA_Wien sind alle, die sich aktiv an ihr beteiligen.“

Die IBA_Wien versteht sich als Prozess und Plattform unter breit angelegter Einbindung der wesentlichen Akteur*innen - neben Planung und Ausführung, Bauträgerschaft und Finanzierung, Forschung und Lehre sowie Politik und Verwaltung ist das vor allem die Wiener Bevölkerung.


Dr. Michael Ludwig | Wiener Bürgermeister & Initiator der IBA_Wien

Dr. Michael Ludwig, Wiener Bürgermeister, hat gemeinsam mit Dr. Wolfgang Förster die IBA_Wien im Jahr 2016 ins Leben gerufen.

>> Wien ist in der vergleichsweise komfortablen Lage, auf eine langjährige Tradition innovativen Wohnbaus zurückzublicken. Das im Jahr 2019 begangene 100-jährige Jubiläum des Gemeindebaus im Roten Wien lehrt uns allerdings auch, dass der Erfolg dieser Tradition nicht im Festhalten an Details, sondern an Grundsätzen besteht. Die Prozesse und die Formen der Umsetzung müssen immer wieder an die jeweils aktuellen Entwicklungen und Anforderungen angepasst werden. Nur so war es bisher möglich, den Standard des Wohnens in  Wien hochzuhalten und ständig weiter auszubauen, sei es in der Zeit des Roten Wien, in der Nachkriegszeit mit ihren großmaßstäblichen Wohnsiedlungen,  in der sanften Stadterneuerung oder eben im beginnenden 21. Jahrhundert mit  seinen aktuellen Anforderungen, seien es Fragen der sozialen Gerechtigkeit, technologischer Neuentwicklungen oder des Klimawandels. Der Umstand, dass Wien auf die jeweiligen Herausforderungen immer mit Augenmaß und Menschlichkeit reagiert hat, ohne dabei seine Grundsätze aus den Augen zu verlieren, trägt wesentlich zu der Position bei, die unsere Stadt im Hinblick auf die allgemeine Lebensqualität seit langer Zeit auch international innehat. <<

 


Kathrin Gaál | Stadträtin & Präsidentin der IBA_Wien

Kathrin Gaál ist Frauen- und Wohnbaustadträtin & Präsidentin der IBA_Wien

>> Mit der Internationalen Bauausstellung legt die Stadt einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf die Entwicklung neuer Ideen und Herangehensweisen,  die Lösungen für die aktuellen und kommenden Herausforderungen rund um  das Thema Wohnen mit sich bringen.

Als Frauenstadträtin ist es mir auch besonders wichtig, die Wiener Tradition fortzusetzen, in der sozialer Wohnbau immer auch mit frauenpolitischen Errungenschaften einhergegangen ist. Wenn wir mittlerweile auf eine 100-jährige Geschichte des kommunalen Wohnbaus im Roten Wien zurückblicken, so war  die Entlastung der Frauen von der Haushalts- und Familienarbeit von Beginn an ein wesentliches Ziel. Ein Ziel, das auch heute immer noch von Bedeutung ist und daher nach neuen Lösungen und Herangehensweisen verlangt. Sicherheit und Barrierefreiheit sind dabei wichtige Themen, wenn es um eine frauengerechte Planung des Wohnumfelds in der Stadt geht. Aber auch die Schaffung innovativer Wohnformen für Alleinerziehende liegt mir besonders am Herzen. <<


Das IBA_Wien Team

Das derzeit 6-köpfige IBA-Team wird koordiniert von DI Kurt Hofstetter.

> Lernen Sie das IBA_Wien Team kennen.


Der wissenschaftliche Beirat zur IBA_Wien

Unter dem Vorsitz von Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Kunibert Wachten und seiner Stellvertreterin Margrit Hugentobler, PhD unterstützt der internationale Beirat die Internationale Bauausstellung Wien im Prozess der inhaltlichen Zuspitzung in der Vorphase sowie während der Phase der Projektqualifizierung bis 2020.

> Mehr Informationen über den wissenschaftlichen Beirat zur IBA_Wien

 


Beratung des IBA-Teams

Univ.Prof. DI Rudolf Scheuvens berät das IBA-Team, veranstaltet Workshops mit Fachleuten und Projektinteressierten und nimmt auch an den Sitzungen des IBA-Beirats teil. Darüber hinaus erarbeitet er für die IBA_Wien Textvorschläge und Inputs für neue Herangehensweisen und Verfahrensmodelle und bringt laufend aktuelle Informationen und Best-Practice-Beispiele aus anderen innovativen Entwicklungen zu den Kernthemen der IBA_Wien ein.