Vienna International Summer School

 

Within the framework of the IBA, the Vienna University of Technology and the University of Vienna are establishing a research cluster (ResearchLab) to encourage interdisciplinary, critical and comparative research in the field of social housing and urban development. To accomplish this goal, the ResearchLab starts in 2018 with a series of annual International Summer Schools on relevant aspects of social housing.

 

 

2021: 4th International Vienna Summer School

In 2021, the International Summer School from September, 13th to September, 17th 2021 will address the changes and challenges that occurred or intensified during the Covid 19 pandemic and changed the character and meaning of "home". For many, their "home" has become an environment that suddenly has to meet multiple needs simultaneously, including work and learning environments, childcare and other care responsibilities. Regardless of extremely different urban, social and cultural contexts, the experience of confinement, the need to stay at home and basically manage all aspects of everyday life in one place, proved to be a massive stress test for individuals and households around the world. Questions about post-pandemic architecture and urban design are legitimately raised in the process?

Against this backdrop, the Summer School invites participants to discuss the housing problems and consequences of the pandemic. A main focus is on a re-evaluation of the concepts of "home" and "household": Is it an appropriate response to strive for designs that can fulfil all these functions in one "home"? Or is there rather a need to defend the "home" against these demands? What does it do for individuals and households to have to balance work, school and care in their homes? How can people best be supported and relieved of pressures and frictions that arise in tense and crowded spaces?

The submission deadline has been extended to 30 April!

Further information: https://iba-researchlab.at/

 

2020: 3rd International Vienna Summer School

As part of the IBA_Vienna, the Vienna University of Technology and the University of Vienna are setting up a research cluster (ResearchLab) to promote interdisciplinary, critical and comparative research in the field of social housing and urban development. In 2020, the third International Vienna Summer School will take place from 7th to 8th of September. Social aspects of living and climate adaptation will be presented and discussed in online seminars.

 


 

Monday 7th of September und Tuesday 8th of September

Online-Seminars available by registration.

www.iba-researchlab.at/programme-2020/

 

Dienstag 8th of September

Between Social and Ecological Sustainability: Public Discussion

Registration available here.

 

 

2019: 2nd Vienna International Summer School

From 16. 9. to 20.9.2019 the summer school will take place for the second time in the framework of the Researchlab. International experts will spend a week dealing with the social aspects of social housing in Vienna. Does the social refer to the dimension of affordability, or, in a much broader sense, to social justice? How is social housing responding to the needs of a increasingly diversified, fragmented and unequal society? How to provide the right to housing also for marginalized and low income groups?

Public events:

Tue, 17.9.2019
What is the social in social housing?
Keynote Lectures: Hulya Ertas and David Madden
Location: TU - The Sky, Getreidemarkt 9 | 1060 Vienna

Fri, 20.9.2019
Social housing challenges in international perspective
Students‘ Inputs and Discussion
Location: Mobiles Stadtlabor OPENmarx, Karl-Farkas-Gasse 1 | 1030 Vienna

More information: https://iba-researchlab.at/

 

 

2018: 1st Vienna International Summer School

This year (17 to 23 September 2018) the Vienna International Summer School will have a thematic focus on the transformation of (post-war) large scale social housing. We invite young researchers of all disciplines (PhD fellows, post-docs, early stage researchers) to put their research projects up for discussion and work together with internationally renowned scholars on the content and methodological issues. The Summer School also offers an opportunity to investigate the history and current developments in social housing estates in Vienna.

The Vienna International Summer School is open for all disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives related to the main theme. Research projects might address social, economic or institutional transformations of large scale housing. Research might revolve around housing practice, the change of living arrangements and living together in heterogeneous neighbourhoods. Which role do residential forms play for families, friendships or other social relations? How are the neighbourhoods and buildings being appropriated? How is the public space being used? We are also interested in research on the management, the assignment and occupancy of social housing. In which forms have municipalities and owners further developed and modernized the housing estates in recent years? How are residents involved?

A peer reviewed publication of the participants’ contributions is planned.

Applicants shall submit:

  • a description of their research/dissertation project (max. 2 pages)
  • a CV (max. 1 page)

Submit to: iba-researchlab@univie.ac.at 

  • 15 May 2018: Deadline for submission of documents
  • by 31 May 2018: Applicants will be informed of the faculty's decision
  • by 15 August 2018: Accepted papers need to be submitted in full length (maximum 7000 words)

There is no fee for the participation in the Summer School. Travel costs will be covered for up to 500 €.

The Vienna International Summer School is funded by the City of Vienna and the IBA_Wien 2022.

All details can be found in the announcement.

Vienna International Summer School

 

Im Rahmen der IBA richten die TU Wien und die Universität Wien einen Forschungscluster (ResearchLab) zur Förderung der interdisziplinären, kritischen und vergleichenden Forschung in dem Gebiet des sozialen Wohnungsbaus und der Stadtentwicklung ein. Darin eingebunden, starteten wir 2018 mit einer Reihe jährlicher internationaler Summerschools zu relevanten Aspekten des sozialen Wohnungsbaus.

 

 

2021: 4. Vienna International Summer School

Im Jahr 2021 wird sich die Summer School vom 13.9. bis 17.9. den Veränderungen und Herausforderungen zuwenden, die während der Covid-19-Pandemie auftraten oder sich verschärften und den Charakter und die Bedeutung von „Zuhause“ veränderten. Für viele hat sich ihr Zuhause zu einer Umgebung entwickelt, die plötzlich verschiedene Bedürfnisse gleichzeitig erfüllen müsste, einschließlich Arbeitsplatz und Lernumgebung, Kinderbetreuung und weiteren Betreuungspflichten. Unabhängig von extrem unterschiedlichen städtischen, sozialen und kulturellen Kontexten erwies sich die Erfahrung der Eingrenzung, die Notwendigkeit, zu Hause zu bleiben und im Grunde alle Aspekte des Alltags an einem Ort zu verwalten, als massiver Stresstest für Einzelpersonen und Haushalte auf der ganzen Welt. Die Frage zur Architektur nach der Pandemie und zum Städtebau werden berechtigterweise dabei auch gestellt?

Vor diesem Hintergrund lädt die Sommerschule ein, die Wohnungsprobleme und Folgen der Pandemie zu erörtern. Ein Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf einer Neubewertung der Konzepte „Zuhause“ und „Haushalt“: Ist eine angemessene Antwort auf das Streben nach Entwürfen, die all diese Funktionen in einer Wohnung erfüllen können? Oder besteht eher die Notwendigkeit, das Haus gegen diese Forderungen zu verteidigen? Was macht es für Einzelpersonen und Haushalte, wenn sie Arbeit, Schule und Pflege in ihrem Zuhause in Einklang bringen müssen? Wie können Menschen am besten unterstützt und von Druck und Reibungen befreit werden, die in angespannten und überfüllten Räumen auftreten?

­­Die Einreichfrist wurde bis zum 30. April verlängert!

Mehr Infos unter: https://iba-researchlab.at/


 

2020: 3. International Vienna Summer School

Vom 7. bis 8. September 2020 fand zum dritten Mal die Vienna International Summer School im Rahmen der IBA_Wien statt. In Online-Seminaren werden soziale Aspekte des Wohnens und der Klimaanpassung vorgestellt und diskutiert. 

Coronabedingt wurde die Summer School diesmal als hybride Veranstaltung organisiert, zum Teil mit Treffen in Wien und zum Teil online. Der internationale Austausch fand vor allem in Online-Seminaren statt, wo soziale Aspekte des Wohnens und der Klimaanpassung vorgestellt und diskutiert wurden.

Im Rahmen der Zwischenpräsentation der IBA_Wien fand am 8. September eine öffentliche Diskussionsveranstaltung mit internationalen Gästen und Wiener Expert*innen zum Klimaanpassung statt.

Im Rahmen der Summer School der IBA ResearchLab 2020 haben sich die Filmemacher*innen Frank Hagen und Miae Son in Wien auf die Suche nach lokalen Projekten und Initiativen gemacht, die dazu beitragen, Lösungen für die Folgen des Klimawandels (wie Stadthitze oder Starkregen) zu finden. Die Filme wurden am 18. Jänner im Rahmen einer digitalen Vernissage präsentiert.

­­Öffentliche Veranstaltungen:

Di, 8.9.2020
Between Social and Ecological Sustainability: Public Discussion
Ort: WEST (ehem. Sophienspital), Stollgasse 17/ Ecke Neubaugürtel | 1070 Wien
Eindrücke hier möglich.

Mo, 18.1.2021
Film Launch: Local and Bottom-up Initiatives to Tackle climate change in Social Housing
online

Mehr Informationen: https://iba-researchlab.at/


 

2019: 2. Vienna International Summer School

Vom 16.9. bis 20.9.2019 fand schon zum 2. Mal die summer school im Rahmen des ResearchLabs statt. Internationale Expert*innen haben sich eine Woche lang mit den Aspekten des Sozialen vom sozialen Wohnen in Wien beschäftigt. Bezieht sich „sozial“ auf die Erschwinglichkeit oder in weiterem Sinn auf soziale Gerechtigkeit? Wie reagiert der soziale Wohnbau auf die Bedürfnisse einer zunehmend diversen, fragmentierten und ungerechten Gesellschaft? Wie kann man sozialen Wohnbau passend für marginalisierte und einkommensschwache Gruppen gestalten?

Öffentliche Veranstaltungen:

Di, 17.9.2019
Was ist sozial im sozialen Wohnen?
Keynote Lectures: Hulya Ertas and David Madden
Ort: TU - The Sky, Getreidemarkt 9 | 1060 Vienna

Fr, 20.9.2019
Soziales Wohnen fordert internationale Perspektive
Inputs Studierende und Diskussion
Ort: Mobiles Stadtlabor OPENmarx, Karl-Farkas-Gasse 1 | 1030 Vienna

Mehr Informationen: https://iba-researchlab.at/


 

2018: 1. Vienna International Summer School

Die erste Vienna International Summer Scholl hat sich im ersten Jahr (17. Bis 23. September 2018) thematisch auf die Transformation von (großvolumigen) Sozialwohnungen der Nachkriegszeit konzentriert. Wir luden Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen aller Disziplinen (Doktorand*innen, Postdocs, Nachwuchsforscher*innen) ein, ihre Forschungsprojekte zur Diskussion zu stellen und mit international renommierten Wissenschaftler*innen zu inhaltlichen und methodischen Fragen zusammenzuarbeiten. Die Summerschool bot auch die Möglichkeit, die Geschichte und aktuellen Entwicklungen in Sozialwohnsiedlungen in Wien zu untersuchen.

Die Vienna International Summer School ist offen für alle disziplinären und interdisziplinären Perspektiven zum Thema. Forschungsprojekte könnten sich mit sozialen, wirtschaftlichen, städtebaulichen oder institutionellen Veränderungen von Großwohnungen befassen. Die Forschung kann sich auf die Wohnungspraxis, die Veränderung von Lebensformen und das Zusammenleben in heterogenen Wohngegenden konzentrieren. Wie wird der öffentliche Raum genutzt? Wir interessieren uns auch für die Forschung zu Management und Belegung von Sozialwohnungen. In welchen Formen haben Kommunen und Eigentümer die Wohnsiedlungen in den letzten Jahren weiterentwickelt und modernisiert? Wie sind die Bewohner beteiligt?

Eine begutachtete Veröffentlichung der Beiträge der Teilnehmer*innen ist geplant. 

Die Vienna International Summer School wird von der Stadt Wien (MA 50) und der IBA_Wien 2022 unterstützt.

Öffentliche Veranstaltungen:

Mi, 19.9.2018
Creative Transformation of Large Scale Housing
Lectures: Florian Urban and Charles Landry
Ort: Theater Brett, Münzwardeingasse 2 | 1060 Wien 

Do, 20.9.2018
Renewal of Social Housing – International Experiences and Lessons for Vienna
Roundtable with Ingrid Breckner, Gabu Heindl, Sarah Leaney and Rudi Scheuvens
Ort: Kuppelsaal der TU Wien, Karlsplatz 13 | 1040 Wien