LiLa4Green

Innerfavoriten
1100 Wien

Cooperation Partner

6 1
GRÜNSTATTGRAU Forschungs- und Innovations GmbH

Favoritenstraße 50
1040 Wien

Open Website

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Giefinggasse 4
1210 Wien

Open Website

Technische Universität Wien

Karlsplatz 13
1040 Wien

Open Website

PlanSinn Planung & Kommunikation GmbH

Wiedner Hauptstraße 54/12
1040 Wien

Open Website

GREX IT Services GmbH

Eglseegasse 10
1120 Wien

Open Website

Weatherpark GmbH Meteorologische Forschung und Dienstleistungen

Gardegasse 3/3
1070 Wien

Open Website

Living Lab for Adapting to Climate Change in Innerfavoriten

>> Urban heat islands´emerge particularly where dense developement and little ventilation are present. But there are simple, natural andidotes that have been tried out and tested for thousands of years: plants and water. <<  

Lila4Green Project Team


Living Lab for Adapting to Climate Change in Innerfavoriten
In the research project LiLa4Green, researchers and residents work together on how to better deal with increasingly hot summers in the city. They are looking for solutions to keep streets and squares usable even on the so-called dog days, for example through the clever use of plants and water.

 
Creating oases in the city. 
The project LiLa4Green seeks the conversation between experts and the population on the topic heat in the city. LiLa4Green stands for "Living Lab for Green". Starting in 2018, these Living Labs have been exploring how more green space and water in the city can help combat the increasing summer heat. At LiLa4Green, researchers and residents jointly think up, discuss and evaluate measures that create cooling and thus quality of life. These can be facade greening, water and green areas, tree planting or other elements of city oases.

Participatory and low-threshold.
The participation of the residents and decision makers plays a central role, because the local population knows best where it gets hottest in the neighborhood. The area Quellenstraße East serves as research area for LiLa4Green. It is a so-called existing structures area, densely built-up with Gründerzeit buildings and housing estates and little green in the streets. The need for measures to counteract the development of urban heat islands is high in this area, but the financial power of the individual residents is low. Thus, this test area is also a good example for other districts of Vienna (e.g. along the Gürtel beltway).

Testing together-deciding together.
Between 2018 and 2020, residents have been able to participate in four events - the "Green Workshops" - to help shape measures against the heat. Some concrete measures are also being implemented in practice. For an initial measure, the 2019 research project has provided a sum of around € 2,500. In 2020, around € 25,000 will then be available for several and more extensive measures, respectively. In this way, the public space should remain attractive for everyone and should also be well usable in all seasons. The findings of the research project will be processed and disseminated so that other districts and cities can benefit from the results.

Living Lab.
Scientifically speaking, a Living Lab-a lively lab dealing with living & housing-helps different stakeholders (research institutions, planning offices, city administrations) together with citizens to experimentally and cooperatively develop and test new products, services, technologies and social innovations. In practical terms, it means that researchers do not look for solutions on their own, but do so together with users and decision makers.


Features

  • LiLa4Green provides pictures of the future and real projects for very concrete spots in Vienna, beside scientific facts and figures
  • LiLa4Green develops digital tools for an interactive communication on climate adaptation
  • LiLa4Green means participation, research and implementation at eye level

 

Project period

2018 to 2021

LiLA4Green is a project funded by the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund in the frame of the Smart Cities Initiative.

Cooperation Partner

GRÜNSTATTGRAU Forschungs- und Innovations GmbH

Favoritenstraße 50
1040 Wien

Open Website

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Giefinggasse 4
1210 Wien

Open Website

Technische Universität Wien

Karlsplatz 13
1040 Wien

Open Website

PlanSinn Planung & Kommunikation GmbH

Wiedner Hauptstraße 54/12
1040 Wien

Open Website

GREX IT Services GmbH

Eglseegasse 10
1120 Wien

Open Website

Weatherpark GmbH Meteorologische Forschung und Dienstleistungen

Gardegasse 3/3
1070 Wien

Open Website

LiLa4Green

Innerfavoriten
1100 Wien

Kooperationspartner

6 1
AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Giefinggasse 4
1210 Wien

Zur Website

GRÜNSTATTGRAU Forschungs- und Innovations GmbH

Favoritenstraße 50
1040 Wien

Zur Website

Technische Universität Wien

Karlsplatz 13
1040 Wien

Zur Website

PlanSinn Planung & Kommunikation GmbH

Wiedner Hauptstraße 54/12
1040 Wien

Zur Website

GREX IT Services GmbH

Eglseegasse 10
1120 Wien

Zur Website

Weatherpark GmbH Meteorologische Forschung und Dienstleistungen

Gardegasse 3/3
1070 Wien

Zur Website

Living Lab zur Klimaanpassung in Innerfavoriten

>> Vor allem dort, wo dichte Bebauung und wenig Durchlüftung vorhanden sind, entstehen "Urbane Hitzeinseln". Es gibt aber einfache, natürliche und seit Jahrtausenden bewährte Gegenmittel: Pflanzen und Wasser. <<

Zitat aus der Infobroschüre "LiLa4Green"


Ein "Living Lab" zur Klimaanpassung.
Im Forschungsprojekt LiLa4Green befassen sich Forscher*innen und Bewohner*innen gemeinsam damit, wie in der Stadt mit immer heißeren Sommern besser umgegangen werden kann. Sie suchen Lösungen, wie Straßen und Plätze auch an den sogenannten Hundstagen nutzbar bleiben, zum Beispiel durch den geschickten Einsatz von Pflanzen und Wasser.

Stadtoasen schaffen.
Das Projekt LiLa4Green sucht den Dialog zwischen Fachleuten und Bevölkerung zum Thema "Hitze in der Stadt." LiLa4Green steht für "Living Lab for Green", also ein "lebendiges Labor". Im Rahmen dieser Living Labs wird seit 2018 erforscht, wie durch mehr Begrünung und Wasser in der Stadt etwas gegen die zunehmende sommerliche Hitze unternommen werden kann. Gemeinsam werden bei LiLa4Green von Forscher*innen und Bewohner*innen Maßnahmen erdacht, diskutiert und bewertet, die Kühlung und damit Lebensqualität schaffen. Das können Fassadenbegrünungen, Wasser- und Grünflächen, Baumpflanzungen oder andere Elemente von Stadtoasen sein.

Partizipativ und niederschwellig.
Die Beteiligung der Bewohner*innen und Entscheidungsträger*innen spielt eine zentrale Rolle, denn die lokale Bevölkerung weiß am besten, wo es im Grätzel am heißesten wird. Das Gebiet "Quellenstraße Ost" dient als Forschungsgebiet für LiLa4Green. Es ist ein sogenanntes Bestandsgebiet, dicht bebaut mit Gründerzeitbauten und Wohnhausanlagen und wenig Grün in den Straßen. Der Bedarf nach Maßnahmen, der Entstehung von urbanen Hitzeinseln entgegenzuwirken, ist in diesem Gebiet hoch, die Finanzkraft der einzelnen Bewohner*innen jedoch gering. Damit ist dieses Testgebiet auch ein gutes Beispiel für andere Wiener Bezirke (z.B. entlang des Gürtels).

Gemeinsam testen - gemeinsam entscheiden.
LiLa4Green wird vom Klima- und Energiefonds gefördert. Zwischen 2018 und 2020 können Bewohner*innen an vier Terminen - den "Grünen Werkstätten" - Maßnahmen gegen die Hitze mitgestalten. Einige konkrete Maßnahmen werden auch real umgesetzt. Für eine erste Maßnahme stellt das Forschungsprojekt 2019 einen Betrag von rund € 2.500 zur Verfügung. Im Jahr 2020 werden dann für mehrere bzw. umfangreichere Maßnahmen rund € 25.000 zur Verfügung stehen. Damit soll der öffentliche Raum für alle attraktiv und auch zu allen Jahreszeiten gut nutzbar bleiben. Die Erkenntnisse des Forschungsprojekts werden aufbereitet und verbreitet, damit andere Bezirke und Städte von den Ergebnissen profitieren können.

Living Lab.
Wissenschaftlich gesprochen hilft ein Living Lab - übersetzt ein "lebendiges Labor" - unterschiedlichen Akteur*innen (Forschungseinrichtungen, Planungsbüros, Stadtverwaltungen) zusammen mit Bürger*innen neue Produkte, Services, Technologien und soziale Innovationen experimentell und kooperativ zu erarbeiten und zu testen. Praktisch gesprochen bedeutet es, dass Forscher*innen nicht alleine nach Lösungen suchen, sondern dies gemeinsam mit den Nutzer*innen und Entscheidungsträger*innen tun.


Besonderheiten

  • LiLa4Green liefert wissenschaftliche Zahlen und Fakten, aber auch Zukunftsbilder und reale Projekte für ganz konkrete Orte in Wien
  • LiLa4Green entwickelt digitale Tools, durch die das Thema spannend und interaktiv vermittelt werden kann
  • LiLa4Green bedeutet Beteiligung, Forschung und Umsetzung auf Augenhöhe

 

Projektdauer

2018-2021

LiLa4Green ist ein durch den Klima- und Energiefonds gefördertes Forschungsprojekt im Rahmen der Smart Cities Initiative.

Passende Veranstaltungen

IBA ResearchLab 2020: Climate Adaptation and Mitigation in Social Housing – Bottom Up and Local Perspectives | Tag 2

Wie wohnen wir morgen? How will we live tomorrow? 08.09.2020 | 10:00 - 08.09.2020 | 21:00 online | WEST (ehem. Sophienspital) | Stollgasse 17/ Ecke Neubaugürtel

IBA ResearchLab 2020: Climate Adaptation and Mitigation in Social Housing – Bottom Up and Local Perspectives | Tag 1

Wie wohnen wir morgen? How will we live tomorrow? 07.09.2020 | 14:00 - 07.09.2020 | 17:00 online |

In 2020, the summer school will have a themativ focus on climate adaptation and mitigation in social housing. Global warming and climate change bring about dramatic challenges for social housing.

Kooperationspartner

AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Giefinggasse 4
1210 Wien

Zur Website

GRÜNSTATTGRAU Forschungs- und Innovations GmbH

Favoritenstraße 50
1040 Wien

Zur Website

Technische Universität Wien

Karlsplatz 13
1040 Wien

Zur Website

PlanSinn Planung & Kommunikation GmbH

Wiedner Hauptstraße 54/12
1040 Wien

Zur Website

GREX IT Services GmbH

Eglseegasse 10
1120 Wien

Zur Website

Weatherpark GmbH Meteorologische Forschung und Dienstleistungen

Gardegasse 3/3
1070 Wien

Zur Website