Cologne

50667 Köln

"How do we want to live in Cologne in 2030?"

With 1.1 million inhabitants, Cologne is Germany's fourth-largest city and looks back on a city history that is almost 2000 years old. As a popular and well-connected metropolis on the Rhine, Cologne has been experiencing dynamic population growth for years and, like many other major cities, is facing major challenges: affordable housing must be created and urgent climate protection and adaptation measures must be implemented.

Under the question "How do we want to live in Cologne in 2030?", Cologne is facing up to the challenges ahead and has developed a compass and a central basis for future-oriented, strategic and sustainable urban development in Cologne in the form of the urban strategy "Cologne Perspectives 2030+".

As a partner city of the IBA Vienna, Cologne provides insights into its own urban strategy and other important instruments of urban development, the most significant development areas, sustainable neighborhood developments and exemplary redevelopment measures.

read more

With its urban strategy "Cologne Perspectives 2030+", Cologne has developed a compass for future-oriented, strategic and sustainable urban development. It highlights the issues Cologne will have to deal with in the coming decades and where the players from politics, administration and urban society will have to join forces. All this with the aim of strengthening, developing and actively shaping Cologne as a liveable city in the long term.

In three future forums and various participation processes, the contents were publicly discussed and the contributions of interested Cologne citizens were included in the discourse on the city strategy.

The urban strategy sets two focal points for consideration, the combination of which provides a holistic basis for Cologne's urban development in the coming years:

While the 360-degree perspective addresses all fields of action of Cologne's urban development, the urban-spatial perspective deals with the spatial future of Cologne. The combination of both perspectives enables a comprehensive view of the fields of action and interrelationships of Cologne's urban development. The "Cologne Perspectives 2030+" are thus intended to form the basis for the actions of administration, politics and urban society and are currently in the political decision-making process.

The central element of the 360-degree perspective is the target framework. It consists of five guiding principles, which are substantiated by a total of 27 goals.

At the interface of the target framework and the statements of the urban spatial perspective are the ten proposals for recommendations for action. They define the most important task areas for the future urban development of Cologne and show how the formulated goals are to be achieved. The recommendations for action are implemented through key projects.

The "Cologne Perspectives 2030+" is a strategic concept that combines strategy and implementation in an action-oriented manner. It is designed as a learning process that can take up new developments and define further formats to involve the necessary stakeholders. This makes it an important step for Cologne toward a sustainable future.

Kölner Perspektiven 2030 - 1. Zukunftsforum 25. Mai 2019

Projects of the partner city

Köln Kreuzfeld – a new district for Cologne

 
In the new "Köln-Kreuzfeld" district in the Chorweiler borough, 3,000 residential units and new jobs are to be created on an area of around 80 hectares. Particular attention will be paid to infrastructure and climate protection.

Parkstadt Süd

 
Parkstadt Süd is one of the largest and most important urban development projects in Cologne. Between Luxemburger Strasse and the banks of the Rhine, the inner green belt will be completed and new neighborhoods for living and working will be created.

Redesign of the squares in Chorweiler

 
The Chorweiler district is a symbol of urban development in the 1970s and, as a large housing estate, suffered from a negative image. Three centrally located squares will be redesigned and the public space will take on a new meaning.

The Cooperative Building Land Model Cologne

 
The Cooperative Building Land Model obliges developers to build 30% of the apartments in the publicly subsidised segment in planning projects that require development planning and is intended to help secure and expand publicly subsidised housing.

Urban development Deutzer Hafen

 
Cologne is gaining a new city district - located directly on the Rhine and within sight of the cathedral. With the development of Deutzer Hafen, the right side of the Rhine has a unique opportunity to reshape its face.

Köln

50667 Köln

"Wie wollen wir in Köln 2030 leben?"

Mit 1,1 Millionen Einwohnern ist Köln die viertgrößte Stadt Deutschlands und blickt auf eine bald 2000 Jahre alte Stadtgeschichte zurück. Als beliebte und gut angebundene Metropole am Rhein, hat Köln seit Jahren ein dynamisches Bevölkerungswachstum zu verzeichnen und steht, wie viele andere Großstädte, vor großen Herausforderungen: Bezahlbarerer Wohnraum muss geschaffen werden und drängende Maßnahmen zu Klimaschutz und Klimaanpassung müssen umgesetzt werden.

Unter der Fragestellung "Wie wollen wir in Köln 2030 leben?" stellt sich Köln den anstehenden Herausforderungen und hat mit der Stadtstrategie "Kölner Perspektiven 2030+" einen Kompass und eine zentrale Grundlage für eine zukunftsgerichtete, strategische und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung in Köln erarbeitet.

Als Partnerstadt der IBA Wien vermittelt Köln Einblicke in die eigene Stadtstrategie und andere wichtige Instrumente der Stadtentwicklung, die bedeutendsten Entwicklungsgebiete, nachhaltige Quartiersentwicklungen und vorbildliche Sanierungsmaßnahmen.

mehr lesen

Mit der Stadtstrategie "Kölner Perspektiven 2030+" hat Köln einen Kompass für eine zukunftsgerichtete, strategische und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung erarbeitet. Sie stellt heraus, mit welchen Themen sich Köln in den kommenden Jahrzehnten auseinandersetzen und wo die Akteurinnen und Akteure aus Politik, Verwaltung und Stadtgesellschaft ihre Kräfte bündeln müssen. Dies alles mit dem Ziel, Köln dauerhaft als lebenswerte Großstadt zu stärken, zu entwickeln und aktiv zu gestalten.

In drei Zukunftsforen und verschiedenen Beteiligungsverfahren wurden die Inhalte öffentlich diskutiert und die Beiträge interessierter Kölner*innen in den Diskurs der Stadtstrategie mit eingebracht.

Die Stadtstrategie setzt zwei Betrachtungsschwerpunkte, deren Kombination eine ganzheitliche Grundlage für die Kölner Stadtentwicklung der nächsten Jahre bietet:

Während die 360-Grad-Perspektive alle Handlungsfelder der Kölner Stadtentwicklung adressiert, befasst sich die Stadträumliche Perspektive mit der räumlichen Zukunft Kölns. Die Kombination beider Perspektiven ermöglicht eine umfassende Betrachtung der Handlungsfelder und Zusammenhänge der Kölner Stadtentwicklung. Die "Kölner Perspektiven 2030+" sollen somit die Grundlage für das Handeln von Verwaltung, Politik und Stadtgesellschaft bilden und sind derzeit in der politischen Beschlussfassung.

Zentrales Element der 360-Grad-Perspektive ist das Zielgerüst. Es besteht aus fünf Leitsätzen, die durch insgesamt 27 Ziele konkretisiert werden.

In der Schnittstelle des Zielgerüstes und den Aussagen der Stadträumlichen Perspektive stehen die zehn Vorschläge für Handlungsempfehlungen. Sie definieren die wichtigsten Aufgabenfelder für die zukünftige Kölner Stadtentwicklung und zeigen auf, wie die formulierten Ziele erreicht werden sollen. Die Umsetzung der Handlungsempfehlungen erfolgt über Schlüsselprojekte.

Die „Kölner Perspektiven 2030+“ sind ein Strategiekonzept, das handlungsorientiert Strategie und Umsetzung verbindet. Es ist als lernender Prozess angelegt, der neue Entwicklungen aufgreifen und weitere Formate definieren kann, um die erforderlichen Akteure einzubinden. Damit ist es ein wichtiger Schritt für Köln in eine nachhaltige Zukunft.

 

Kölner Perspektiven 2030 - 1. Zukunftsforum 25. Mai 2019

Projekte der Partnerstadt

Das Ko­ope­ra­tive Bau­land­mo­dell Köln

 
Das Kooperative Baulandmodell verpflichtet Bauherr*innen bei Planvorhaben, die eine Bebauungsplanung benötigen, 30% der Wohnungen im öffentlich geförderten Segment zu errichten und soll helfen, öffentlich geförderten Wohnraum zu sichern und auszubauen.

Köln Kreuz­feld – ein neuer Stadt­teil für Köln

 
Im neuen Stadtteil "Köln-Kreuzfeld" im Stadtbezirk Chorweiler sollen auf einer Fläche von circa 80 Hektar 3.000 Wohneinheiten sowie neue Arbeitsplätze entstehen. Hierbei werden die Infrastruktur und der Klimaschutz besonders intensiv berücksichtigt.

Neu­ge­stal­tung der Plätze in Chor­weiler

 
Der Stadtteil Chorweiler ist Symbol für den Städtebau der 1970er-Jahre und litt als Großwohnsiedlung unter einem negativ geprägten Image. Drei zentral gelegenen Plätze werden umgestaltet und der öffentliche Raum erhält eine neue Bedeutung.

Park­stadt Süd

 
Die Parkstadt Süd ist eines der größten und bedeutendsten städtebaulichen Projekte in Köln. Zwischen Luxemburger Straße und Rheinufer wird in den nächsten 10-15 Jahren der Innere Grüngürtel vollendet und neue Quartiere zum Wohnen und Arbeiten entstehen.

Stadt­ent­wick­lung Deutzer Hafen

 
Köln gewinnt ein neues Stadtviertel – direkt am Rhein gelegen und in Sichtweite des Doms. Mit der Entwicklung des Deutzer Hafens hat die rechte Rheinseite die einmalige Chance, von der Südbrücke bis zur Severinsbrücke ihr Gesicht neu zu gestalten.